Governance and structure

The Champlain Hospice Palliative Care Program is responsible for determining local priorities to meet provincial goals. It is governed by a 15 member competency-based Council and responsible for directing the activities of the program to meet regional needs. The Council reflects a balance of skills and expertise, as the official voice of HPC in Champlain. Members work collectively toward better cooperation and integration in the hospice palliative care system.

Each Regional Palliative Care Network/program has its own governance structure which is accountable to the Local Health Integration Network CEO and CCO Regional Vice-President. In our region, the Champlain Hospice Palliative Care Program (CHPCP) is the principal regional advisor on high-quality hospice palliative care and helps to inform decision-making in the region.

Council members 2021-2022

  • Elan Graves, Co-Chair
  • Arlynn Belizaire, Co-Chair
  • Janet Morris, Treasurer


  • Sheila Bauer 
  • Peggy Dick (Algonquins of Pikwakanagan)
  • Pam Grassau
  • Anton Holland
  • Lisa Hubers
  • Mike Kekewich
  • Sabine Mersmann
  • Wendy Muckle
  • Anne Robert
  • Jason Samson
  • Megan Wright

Non-voting members

  • Nathalie Gilbert, Home and Community Care
  • Anne Mantha – Host Agency, Bruyère Continuing Care
  • Dr. Jill Rice, Clinical Co-Lead